Book Review : The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

This book has long been on my radar, I don’t remember who, but I know many popular figures are influenced by the book. I’ve been contemplating whether to read this or skip this. In the end, curiosity get the best of me!


Genre : Classic, Philosophy, Self Help, Spirituality
Page : 182 pages
Published :1st January 1988


Combining magic, mysticism, wisdom, and wonder into an inspiring tale of self-discovery, The Alchemist has become a modern classic, selling millions of copies around the world and transforming the lives of countless readers across generations.

Paulo Coelho’s masterpiece tells the mystical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure. His quest will lead him to riches far different—and far more satisfying—than he ever imagined. Santiago’s journey teaches us about the essential wisdom of listening to our hearts, recognizing opportunity and learning to read the omens strewn along life’s path, and, most importantly, following our dreams.


“And, when you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”


The Alchemist —Here is the mystical story of Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who yearns to travel in search of a worldly treasure.


I am so excited to start this book! Even in the beginning before the start of the story, there are moral story that I have already love and contemplate a lot.

So you can imagine my excitement to go further reading. The story tells the story of Santiago who happens to be a shepherd and along his travel, he dreams big.

Personally, I find the story interesting. I quite enjoy my time with the book. However, upon half of my reading, I think I’m starting to get bored with the story. A part of me feels like it’s because of the not so engaging writing and a part of me feels like the story sometimes doesn’t make sense. Even though I know this is classic and it’s a self help book.

But what I do notice is there are lots of lessons to learn from the book. It feels like reading and learning at the same time. Here are some messages the book has

  • Keep on believing in ourselves, the universe and God
  • Trust that the universe will help you pave your way as long as you’re doing it by heart
  • Different people have different perspective
  • Being smart doesn’t mean being wise
  • You can never judge a person by the cover because you never really know what happen behind the shell
  • Without knowing, our predicament could be our most treasured moments
  • The road is rocky, uncertain, dangerous and risky but with one’s perseverance and strong will, all should pass and dream could be achieved.

and many more lessons! And so many wonderful quotes to love.

If you have a dream, I think you should read this book. It may not have the best engaging writing but it sure has a great deal of lessons to learn. However, as much as I admire the lessons, I think it’s not woven that good in the story, so the story and lessons feel detached, like it doesn’t really connect with each other.

Personally, I think this story has quite the potential. But I just don’t think it suits my taste. But still, it is a good book.

“It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.”

Author: Celine

6 thoughts on “Book Review : The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

  1. thank you! just what i thought. bored, detached, confused. he’s preaching to a choir i’m not part of. i kept thinking–this is a “classic.” why am i not enjoying it? there are just no answers for some questions–one i think he missed.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been meaning to read “The Alchemist.” I read the first page so far. I was bored with “Fahrenheit 451.” I wonder if maybe the perspective of authors from those time periods don’t resonate with us anymore. 🤔

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment