Book Series Review : The Housemaid + The Housemaid’s Secret (The Housemaid Series) by Freida McFadden

So. 

The first time I notice this book, I’m not aware it has sequels. But because I’m already aware and interested in the book, I dig out more and eventually found out this book is getting sequels.

I’ve been waiting forever for the sequels release and I’m just saying, this series worth all the waits.


Genre : Mystery, Thriller
Page : 338 pages
Published :26th April 2022


“Welcome to the family,” Nina Winchester says as I shake her elegant, manicured hand. I smile politely, gazing around the marble hallway. Working here is my last chance to start fresh. I can pretend to be whoever I like. But I’ll soon learn that the Winchesters’ secrets are far more dangerous than my own…

Every day I clean the Winchesters’ beautiful house top to bottom. I collect their daughter from school. And I cook a delicious meal for the whole family before heading up to eat alone in my tiny room on the top floor.

I try to ignore how Nina makes a mess just to watch me clean it up. How she tells strange lies about her own daughter. And how her husband Andrew seems more broken every day. But as I look into Andrew’s handsome brown eyes, so full of pain, it’s hard not to imagine what it would be like to live Nina’s life. The walk-in closet, the fancy car, the perfect husband.

I only try on one of Nina’s pristine white dresses once. Just to see what it’s like. But she soon finds out… and by the time I realize my attic bedroom door only locks from the outside, it’s far too late.

But I reassure myself: the Winchesters don’t know who I really am.

They don’t know what I’m capable of…


“He has no idea this is just the beginning.”


FIRST BOOK REVIEW

I happen to know this book by chance. I was searching some thriller recommendation online and this show up like miracle.

This book intrigued me because for as long as I read, thriller usually revolves around husband and wife, their psychotic behavior and how they influence one another in their sick routine.

For me, this book is pretty unique because the story centers on a housemaid. So this book is basically told form the point of view of a maid.

Millie desperately needs a new job that provide her a roof on her head. When Nina Winchester offers Millie a job as her maid with jaw dropping paycheck, Millie is quick to the offer.

What I love about this book, aside from the maid, is both parties kept secrets.

Also, the story deliverance is good. I love to read the dynamic between Millie and Nina and I love how this book hinted there’s something dark lurking in the house.

Because I’ve read many thriller recently, I came across a similar concept to this book (except that it doesn’t come from the point of view of a maid), I could guess what the big twist might be.

But strangely, I do not feel bored at all with this book. Knowing where this book is going, I just kept reading and reading because this book is fun to read. Usually, when I kind of realised where this book is going, it kind of depleting my excitement for a bit. But not with this book.

I just kept on reading because of how good this story is. I highly enjoy my time with this book and it’s fun to see how the story progress, going straight through the big twist I think I know.

And even after I’ve read the twist, I am baffled and in awe with the whole process. It’s not like I guess it wrong, but it just consist of a much more bigger scale than I thought. It’ a good case, a good story, good twists with good characters.

I love how this book provide a good coverage from the beginning to the end, with a good wrapped ending. Like, the whole story just made sense. During my reads, I’ve come to love several characters that I think deserves credit and love. And I’m glad this book aside from focusing on the story, it also focus on the their closure as well.

This book is totally full of plot and I really think it’s a good story, worthy enough to be recommended. It’s not a jumpscare but it is indeed a good thriller.

“Those are the four most beautiful words in the English language. You can go now.”


Genre : Mystery, Thriller
Page : 338 pages
Published :26th April 2022


“Don’t go in the guest bedroom.” A shadow falls on Douglas Garrick’s face as he touches the door with his fingertips. “My wife… she’s very ill.” As he continues showing me their incredible penthouse apartment, I have a terrible feeling about the woman behind closed doors. But I can’t risk losing this job—not if I want to keep my darkest secret safe…

It’s hard to find an employer who doesn’t ask too many questions about my past. So I thank my lucky stars that the Garricks miraculously give me a job, cleaning their stunning penthouse with views across the city and preparing fancy meals in their shiny kitchen. I can work here for a while, stay quiet until I get what I want.

It’s almost perfect. But I still haven’t met Mrs Garrick, or seen inside the guest bedroom. I’m sure I hear her crying. I notice spots of blood around the neck of her white nightgowns when I’m doing laundry. And one day I can’t help but knock on the door. When it gently swings open, what I see inside changes everything…

That’s when I make a promise. After all, I’ve done this before. I can protect Mrs Garrick while keeping my own secrets locked up safe.

Douglas Garrick has done wrong. He is going to pay. It’s simply a question of how far I’m willing to go…


SECOND BOOK REVIEW

I’ve been waiting for this book since forever. I do not like to separate reading series, which after a year, I’ll probably forgot all about it.

So, I read The Housemaid’s Secret right after I finished The Housemaid. I think I just found my new favourite thriller series.

Personally, I love this book much more than the first book. The story picks up years after The Housemaid and it’s good to see how particular characters have move on with their lives.

Millie is hired by Douglas Garrick to take care of their stunning penthouse, with yes, remarkable paycheck. Millie couldn’t been more grateful for the job, until she heard someone cried from the second bedroom. Possibly Mrs. Garrick.

And when Millie found the bloody nightgown and seen the face of Mrs. Garrick for the first time, Millie finally made the decision.

I love The Housemaid’s Secret. I think this book is much more engaging rather than the first book. The writing is so good that I can’t help but continuing reading the book. I personally think it’s rather page turner.

And for this book, several characters really grow on me. So, reading good stories consisted of good characters really made me excited. I’m having fun reading how they get on with their lives after the first book.

Personally, I think this book is lighter than the first book. Even though this book has a pretty heavy issues. It seems less complicated during the reads, but it is much more complicated regarding the twist and the case.

I mean, the twist is pretty mind blowing. Something I didn’t expect could happen in the book. So, I think this book is quite satisfying, given how good the twist is.

And I always love to read thriller that have a life. Meaning, I love complicated cases, but I also love to read how the characters involved themselves in the book. I love characters that have souls and chemistry. Not just a mere names to create the story. I love to read characters that truly live in the story.

And this book provide just that. Characters that lives alongside the story. Characters that made the story wholesome.

Not to mention, the story deliverance is so good. It feels intense and and engaging. Much more than the first book. My personal favorite, is the characters development and the story deliverance. I think this book is quite the catch.

“beauty is less easily perceived when it’s in an unassuming setting.”


OVERALL REVIEW

Reading this series has been one of the best decision in my life. I have never expect this series to have such a good story, tops with charming characters.

This series has now officially been one of my favorites and will become my seasonal reads as long as the author keeps on publising the book.

I was sort of skeptical the first time reading the The Housemaid. It makes me wonder, what people seen in the book that they ended up giving such high value review for the book. But as time goes, I enjoy my reads and I come to expect The Housemaid’s Secret, which ended up in me, falling in love with the series.

The Housemaid has much more chills compared to The Housemaid’s Secret. And In range of twist and plot, I think The Housemaid Secret’s is much more complicated.

But for The Housemaid’s Secret, I think due to I’ve known beforehand the characters trait in the book before, in The Housemaid’s Secret, I could understand the characters better and I’ve known what kind of stories I’m dealing with in the series.

Also, I love The Housemaid’s Secret more than The Housemaid. I just think it to be much more engaging and humane.

The story is different in each book. So don’t worry, you won’t have to read about never-ending mystery case. Instead, this book has each their own story and their own closure.

A word of advice, if you would like to read this series, I highly suggest to read in a chronological order. Because there’s a rather big history going on in each book and I think it’s recommended to start and understand the characters from the beginning, to avoid confusion.

HOW TO ENTICE YOU TO READ THIS SERIES

  • A guide by : Celine
  1. Morally Grey Characters
    I think morally grey characters in thriller is quite a catch. Also, in this series, the morally grey characters is interesting in their own way. And I love it.

  2. Clear Goals
    From the beginning of this book, it has a fix purpose as to what the characters are chasing to. Like they know what they’re doing and why. Their determination is fixated from beginning to the end. And after two books going on, they still have the same determination and I think it’s pretty solid series with good plot along the way.

  3. Shocking Twists
    I don’t even know how to describe these twists. We are talking about twist, and twist inside twist, also twist after twist. So, it might seems a bit crazy to apprehend, but I assure you, it’s a good twist.

All in all, I would very much put this series into my comfort reads. Even though this is thriller we are talking about. But who cares? I love the series.

Author : Celine

9 thoughts on “Book Series Review : The Housemaid + The Housemaid’s Secret (The Housemaid Series) by Freida McFadden

Leave a comment