Book Review : Local Woman Missing by Mary Kubica

Well I forgot this book exist. I remember wanting to read this book ages ago but ended up keeping it and forgetting all about it.


Genre : Mystery, Thriller
Page : 378 pages
Published :18th March 2021


Shelby Tebow is the first to go missing. Not long after, Meredith Dickey and her six-year-old daughter, Delilah, vanish just blocks away from where Shelby was last seen, striking fear into their once-peaceful community. Are these incidents connected? After an elusive search that yields more questions than answers, the case eventually goes cold.

Now, 11 years later, Delilah shockingly returns. Everyone wants to know what happened to her, but no one is prepared for what they’ll find….


“Sometimes being scared makes you do things you didn’t know you could do.”


Local Woman Missing —Delilah shockingly returns after 11 years gone missing


I love the beginning of the story. My first impression on the book is “I think I’m going to love this one” because it’s thrilling enough to keep me on edge and reading the beginning of this book feels like watching movies. You can’t help but pray for the well being and safety of the character.

The story spike up my interest because it involves a heap of mystery surrounding the disappearance after disappearance of the locals. And it is even more intriguing after Delilah miraculously come back.

But alas, although the mystery is intriguing and the prologue is thrilling, I find the rest of the story to be quite flat for me. I know how story especially thriller tends to have routine introduction to their activities and characters. But I think as time goes on, it stuck and focused too much on the character daily basis while showing readers how the characters feel chapter by chapter after Delilah returns.

The story is divided into several POVs which spans into present timeline and past timeline. Those many POV is not confusing to read but I think the writing style is a bit difficult for me to follow. Definitely not the kind of writing that would keep me awake.

Also, what excites me in the beginning is the handful of mystery surrounding the disappearance. But when it does finally being revealed, it is kind of underwhelm for me. I remember thinking “Is it only like this? This is the reason?” which baffled me because the story premises is already good.

I know it is horrible if all this thing happen in real life. Horrible and heart breaking. But I think the whole story wrap up is kind of underwhelming and some of it doesn’t make sense.

It is not a bad book actually and it has a nice premises. I just feel like the book has a lot of potentials and could be a fantastic mystery if it is delivered well.

“They say time heals all wounds.”

Author: Celine

Leave a comment