Book Review : Better Than The Movies by Lynn Painter

I have no idea this book is so damn popular. There are times I kind of missing in bookish radar and focused too much in life that I abandon reading. So when I accidentally saw this pop up as I scroll through which book to add in my cart, I am so curious with the book. And the title is already cute, so of course I’m reading this book.


Genre : Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
Page : 356 pages
Published :4th May 2021


Perpetual daydreamer Liz Buxbaum gave her heart to Michael a long time ago. But her cool, aloof forever crush never really saw her before he moved away. Now that he’s back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to get on his radar – and maybe snag him as a prom date – even befriend Wes Bennet.

The annoyingly attractive next-door neighbor might seem like a prime candidate for romantic-comedy fantasies, but Wes has only been a pain in Liz’s butt since they were kids. Pranks involving frogs and decapitated lawn gnomes do not a potential boyfriend make. Yet, somehow, Wes and Michael are hitting it off, which means Wes is Liz’s in.

But as Liz and Wes scheme to get Liz noticed by Michael so she can have her magical prom moment, she’s shocked to discover that she likes being around Wes. And as they continue to grow closer, she must reexamine everything she thought she knew about love – and rethink her own ideas of what happily ever after should look like.


“She’s not you.”

“What?”

“She. Isn’t. You.”


Better Than The Movies — Liz is starting to wonder and re-evaluate her life in the mission of making Michael notice her worth with the help of her annoying next door neighbor – Wes Bennet.


Holly Molly.

You have no idea how adorable this book is.

Liz Buxbaum has set her eyes on her crush Michael for like- forever. So when Michael is back in town, Liz will do whatever it takes to make Michael notice her. Even with the help of her life-long-annoying-neighbor Wes Bennet.

To be honest, I expect college love life with this book. But instead, I’m met with some high school love life, reckless decisions, miscommunication and childish banter. Which I would have hate if we’re talking about any other romance. But definitely NOT with this book. I find all this romance cliche highly adorable and cute.

In fact, everything about Wes Bennet and Liz Buxbaum is enchantingly adorable.

I love how this book do not jump straight into showing us the intensity or the smoldering look our characters give to their love crush. It just felt so innocent and sweet, how Liz is pinning over Michael and how Wes help her to get to her childhood crush. Willingly.

What make this book different from another romance I read, is how main male lead character do not show his affection or longing or even an ounce of feelings outward. There are even moments I wonder, does the male lead like her? Is this the story of childhood crush bloom to love or the kind of love he’ll realized along the way? Just because of how cool and nonchalant he is towards the whole charade.

He just go with the flow and I love how there are not much hyperbole action that forced proximity between male lead character and Liz.

I love how this is a story of how Prom is still a big deal.

Yeah, I know I’m too old for that but I just love the dynamic of this book. Reading this book remind me of my high school days and this book feels so much like Taylor Swift’s kind of songs. Seriously.

Also, have I mention this book has a good amount of angst in it? It just complete the whole roller coaster ride of finding a happily ever after.

There are times I facepalm myself for the miscommunication and sometimes, even Liz’ attitude and how she cope towards all the events in her life but the banter is just hilarious and the chemistry Liz has with the male lead is so spot on and sweet that I am willing to look past all that.

It’s just, I wish there are more epilogues after the abrupt end of the book.

And so, I’m thrilled to find out this book actually has SEVERAL bonus chapters which made me sacrifice my beauty sleep just so I could read it all in a night.

♡ Better Than Before (which consist of another Lynn’s character too)
♡ Better Than The Prom (LEGIT my favorite)
♡ The Party (which is hilarious)
♡ Wes & Liz’ College Road Trip (which is cute)
♡ Basketball Night (made me internal screaming)
♡ Wes Bennett’s Vivid Dream ( oh poor Wessy)
♡ December 15th (which consist of another Lynn’s character too)

ALL OF THAT? Make me a freaking Wes and Liz’ addict. And the bonus chapter is Wes POV, so if you do love the book, I highly recommend you to read the bonus chapters which made me internal screaming, giggling and smiling.

All those chapters can be found in Lynn’s website.

Also, have I mention the sequel to Better Than Movies is coming up this Fall 2024? (T⌓T) I’m definitely buying the book.

This book is suitable for a light romance reading. And I would highly recommend this to any of you who dreamed of a happily ever after!

“Enemies-to-lovers—it’s our trope, Buxbaum.”

Author: Celine

Leave a comment